Wilpattu ෴ විල්පත්තුව

Wilpattu Wilpattu Wilpattu

Wilpattu National Park is located 183km north of Colombo, along the North-west coast lowland dry zone in the North-central province of Sri Lanka.

Reaching Wilpattu National Park
Wilpattu National Park can be reached by Colombo-Puttalama (A12) road, then taking the turn at 45km post and continue traveling along the road B028 for about 8 Kms.

Wilpattu National Park can be visited all year around. However the ideal period to visit spread from January to May.

The eco-system at Wilpattu
Wilpattu National Park is home to unique eco-system of lakes called Villus. Villu system consists of natural fresh-water wetlands that catch rainwater in natural basins surrounded by grassy plains set within dense scrub jungle. Nearly sixty villus and rainwater reservoirs are spread over the Wilpattu National Park.

Wildlife at Wilpattu
Among the numerous mammals found in Wilpattu National Park are elephant, sloth bear, water buffalo, and spotted deer. The top draw at Wilpattu is Leopard.

Accommodation at Wilpattu National Park
The circuit bungalows located within the park are still being renovated: Pannikar Villu, Kalli Villu, Mena Villu, Thala Villu, Manikkapola Uttu and Kokmottai. The Kokmottai circuit bungalow is now open following renovation.

Accommodation in cities surrounding the park
Mud House, Anamaduwa Alankuda Beach, Kalpitiya Palm Garden Village, Anuradhapura Tisawewa Grand Rest House, AnuradhapuraChaaya Village, HabaranaCinnamon Lodge, HabaranaRanweli Holiday Village, NegomboBrown's Beach, NegomboThe Beach, Negombo

About Anuradhapura District

Anuradhapura is belongs to the North Central Province in to Sri Lanka. Anuradhapura is one of the ancient capitals of Sri Lanka, famous for its well-preserved ruins of ancient Lankan civilization. The city, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, lies 205 km north of the current capital Colombo in Sri Lanka.

In the sacred city of Anuradhapura and in the vicinity are a large number of ruins. The ruins consist of three classes of buildings, dagobas, monastic buildings, and pokuna (ponds). The city had some of the most complex irrigation systems of the ancient world, situated in the dry zone of the country the administration built many tanks to irrigate the land. Most of the civilians are Sinhala, while Tamils and Sri Lankan Moors live in the district.

Special places in Anuradhapura:

About North Central Province

North Central Province which is the largest province in the country covered 16% of total country's land area. North Central Province consist two districts called Polonnaruwa and Anuradhapure. Anuradhapura is the largest district in Sri Lanka. Its area is 7,128 km².

North Central Province has numerous potentials for Investors to start their Businesses, especially Agriculture, agro based industries and Livestock sectors. More than 65% of North Central Province's people depend on basic Agriculture and agro base industries. NCP also called "Wew Bendi Rajje" because there are more than 3,000 medium and large scale tanks situated in the province. Sri maha bodiya, Ruwanweli seya, Thuparama dageba, Abayagiri Monastry, Polonnaruwa Rankot wehera, Lankathilake are scared places in North Central Province.

【LK94009575: Text by Lakpura™. Images by Google, copyright(s) reserved by original authors.】

About Vavuniya District

Vavuniya District is one of the 25 districts of Sri Lanka, the second level administrative division of the country. The district is administered by a District Secretariat headed by a District Secretary (previously known as a Government Agent) appointed by the central government of Sri Lanka. The capital of the district is the city of Vavuniya.

About Northern Province

The Northern ProvinceNorthern Province is located in the north of Sri Lanka just 35 km from India. It has a land area of 8,884 km’. The province is surrounded by the Gulf of Mannar and Palk Bay to the west, Palk Strait to the north west, the Bay of Bengal to the north and east and the Eastern, North Central and North Western provinces to the south. The Northern Province of Sri Lanka is comprised of five administrative districts: Jaffna, KilinochchiMulaitivuVavuniya and Mannar while Jaffna being the provincial capital which is the administrative headquarters of the Jaffna districtlocated on a peninsula of the same name.